Emergency Management Division

Wicomico County maintains an active Emergency Management Division. The Deputy Director of the department manages the daily activities of the Emergency Management Division and staff made up of an Emergency Management/Safety Coordinator, Emergency Management Planner, and Emergency Management Administrative Office Assistant. The Deputy Director in conjunction with the department director are responsible for the management and disbursement of Homeland Security grants funding awarded to Wicomico County. The Deputy Director also serves as the County Risk Manager and performs additional administrative and management functions for the entire Department.

The division is responsible for updating and maintaining emergency plans to deal with mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery for natural and man-made disasters along with the county risk management/safety program.  The division also maintains the Wicomico County Emergency Mobile Command Unit for all response agencies in the County.


Members of the division participate with several community and area committees, and organizations on a regular basis to maintain working and cooperative partnerships in the furtherance of emergency preparedness. These committees and organizations include:
  • Delmarva Emergency Task Force (DETF)
  • Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)
  • Volunteer Organizations Active In A Disaster (VOAD)
  • Eastern Shore Communication Alliance (ESCA)   
  • Maryland Emergency Management Agency (MEMA)
  • Maryland Emergency Management Association
  • PRMC Disaster Committee
  • Salisbury Mutual Assistance Group
  • US Coast Guard Area Contingency Planning Committee

Responsibilities & Services

 The division monitors national and worldwide threats and identifies necessary preparedness activities and emergency operations planning. This is a constantly changing effort in order to maintain the county’s state of preparedness. The division also maintains a constant monitoring status of weather activity through an array of redundant systems to ensure real time awareness and immediate community notification.

The Emergency Management Division in conjunction with the LEPC is also responsible for administration and record keeping for the Hazardous Materials Regulatory Program authorized under the Federal Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act of 1986 (EPCRA). Planning is a priority for the office, however not the only aspect of the division. The division also assists with emergency response to hazardous material incidents throughout the county.


Education is very important and the Emergency Management Division is very involved in community training. This is being done through a program called Community Emergency Response Training (C.E.R.T). The division is also charged with coordinating the National Incident Management System compliance for all Wicomico County agencies.

The division may be contacted by calling 410-548-4820.