Maryland Police Accountability Act

In 2021, the Maryland Legislature passed the Maryland Police Accountability Act of 2021. This law required all counties to create three police oversight boards, each of which serves a different function. The three police oversight boards consist of: a Police Accountability Board, an Administrative Charging Committee, and a Trial Board. In April 2022, the County Council created and the Acting County Executive signed into law the creation of the three police oversight boards. Collectively, the three boards are referred to as the Law Enforcement Review Board of Wicomico County.

Police Accountability Board

The Police Accountability Board (PAB) is a 9 member board. All 9 members are appointed by the County Executive. The PAB holds quarterly meetings with heads of law enforcement agencies and otherwise works with law enforcement agencies and the county government to improve matters of policing. The Board also receive complaints of police misconduct filed by members of the public and on a quarterly basis, reviews outcomes of disciplinary matters considered by the charging committee.

The current members of the PAB are:

  • Gaylon E. Adkins (2 year term)
  • J. Anthony Dickerson (1 year term)
  • Elizabeth Griffith (1 year term)
  • Deanna (Dena) Y. Hall (1 year term)
  • Deborah L. Hammel (2 year term)
  • Ronald B. Lewis, Chair (2 year term)
  • Sarah E. McGarity (1 year term)
  • David H. Owens (2 year term)
  • Habacuc Petion (2 year term)

The PAB meets quarterly on the third Wednesday at 3pm in Council Chambers (Room 301) of the Government Office Building, 125 N. Division Street, Salisbury, MD 21803.

PAB Application Can Be Found Here

Administrative Charging Committee

The Administrative Charging Committee (ACC) is a 5 member board. The County Executive appoints 2 people to the ACC, by state law the Chair of the PAB sits on the ACC and the remaining 2 positions are appointed by the PAB. The ACC reviews the findings of a law enforcement agency's investigation (as only a police agency investigates the complaint). Considering the findings of the investigating agency, the Administrative Charging Committee makes a determination as to whether or not to administratively charge the police officer who is the subject of the investigation and if the police officer is charged, recommend discipline. The Administrative Charging Committee does not file criminal charges against a law enforcement officer.

The current members of the ACC are:

  • Ronald B. Lewis (2 year term)
  • Debra D. McJilton (1 year term)
  • Mark David Babe Wilson (2 year term)
  • Carlos Ayala (2 year term)
  • Lori Brewster (1 year term)

The ACC meets on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 3pm in Room 300 of the Government Office Building, 125 N. Division Street, Salisbury, MD 21803.

Trial Board

The Trial Board is composed of three members. One of the members is a the Trial Board is a judge appointed by the County Executive. Another member is a representative from the public. The County has 5 public representatives who have been appointed by the PAB to serve in this role. The final member is a law enforcement officer of equal rank to the charged officer. The Trial Board exists to serve law enforcement officers who wish to have a trial on administrative charges brought by the County’s Administrative Charging Committee.

The current members of the Trial Board are:

  • Kevin Beauchamp
  • Joseph Cossaboom
  • Paul Marshall Jr.
  • Mark Glushakow
  • Kort Dickson

The Trial Board meets as needed in Council Chambers (Room 301) of the Government Office Building, 125 N. Division Street, Salisbury, MD 21803.

Legislative Bill 2022-04:  An Act to Establish Chapter 46 Law Enforcement Review Board of the Wicomico County Code.

Highlighted language cannot be changed at this time.

Green Highlights: Proposed Regulations going through Review Process

Yellow Highlights: State Law

Power Point Presentation by Mr. Andrew N. Illuminati, Esq.


Police Accountability Complaint Form (Please Print, Sign and Date and drop off at the County Executive's Office)